Pressure Sound Designer Production Journal

Summary

This session we recreated our film from last session to improve things we didn’t like in the last film.

Captured Sound

Foley Sounds

  • TYPING
    • Boom Mic
    • I typed on a keyboard and recorded it
  • CLASSROOM
    • Boom Mic
    • I held the boom mic up and recorded the class
  • BOOKS SLIDING
    • Boom Mic
    • I recorded myself swiping across a table
  • CLICK
    • Boom Mic
    • I recorded myself clicking a mic

Collating Sound For Editing

This shows me sorting sound and labeling it for the editor

Sound Choices

I chose to capture sounds like the clock and classroom noise to add a realistic environment to the film.

Composition Consideration

The director wanted some dramatic music to add more of a stress feeling to the audience and add tension to the film. We used the same music we used last session since this is a remake of our film from then and we were short on time for making music. Last session we made the music using garage band.

Musical Score Influences

The Shining

Wendy Carlos

We took inspiration from The Shining because of its dramatic music that adds tension throughout the film.

What I Learned and Problems I Solved

Something I learned this session was collaborating with the director and cinematographer more since I was also an actor this session and as a sound designer I learned more about foley sounds.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *